Diablo 4 Tree of Whispers System Guide

| | |

Tree of Whispers Diablo 4

The Tree of Whispers is a Bounty-like system in Diablo 4, that you can unlock after you complete the game’s Campaign! You will first encounter the Tree of Whispers during Act IV of the game’s Campaign but you can unlock this gameplay system after you complete it. An endgame basically system that will send you around Sanctuary to gather Grim Favors for rewards. Tree of Whispers is a great way to gain extra XP, loot and gold while performing other activities in the game and will be an important part of your Daily Routine in Diablo 4.

Table of Contents

How to Unlock the Tree of Whispers in Diablo 4

You will visit the Tree during Act IV of the campaign but you can only accept its “bounties” and unlock it as a gameplay system after you complete the Campaign! Once you complete the Campaign you will receive the “Whispers of the Dead” priority quest. Visit the Tree to receive your first set of “Bounties” and basically unlock the system.

tree of whispers
Whispers of the Dead Quest

Whispers of the Dead in Diablo 4

After you have unlocked the system, new sets of Quests will appear around Sanctuary. These are called “Whispers of the Dead” and will remain available for a limited amount of time. After the time has passed a new set of quests will appear in another area.

Tree of Whispers & Whispers of the Dead

The Whispers of the Dead ask you to complete a variety of activities in an area and reward you with Grim Favors. These activities can be anything from clearing a Dungeon or a cellar to completing an event or killing a number of enemies around. Each activity offers a different number of Grim Favors as a reward. They appear with a different color on the map based on the Grim Favors they reward you.

  • Dark Red Whispers reward you with 5 Grim Favors.
  • Red Whispers reward you with 3 Grim Favors.
  • Pink Whispers reward you with 1 Grim Favor.

You can only collect 10 Grim Favors! Once you collect your 10 Grim Favors every other Whisper of the Dead on the map will be greyed out and will not reward you any more favors.

Tree of Whispers Rewards in Diablo 4

Once you collect 10 Grim Favors, return to the Tree of Whispers to receive your rewards. You can choose between three collections of items. If the collections are Orange that means that at least one of the items inside will be of Legendary quality.


Collections of Chaos can contain various gear pieces. Among the rewards you get from the collections it is possible to receive Glyphs, that you can use on your Paragon Boards, as well as Sigils, to transform Dungeons into Nightmare Dungeons! Once you have received your rewards you can go ahead and collect another 10 Grim Favors. Return them to the tree to receive a new Collection of items! Repeat this process as many times as you like. The Tree of Whispers is a great system in Diablo 4, that will allow you to earn XP, loot, Gold and progress your characters faster!

More Diablo 4 Guides

Follow me on Youtube